Liebster Blog Award

The lovely Taylor at Mom & Monster (whom I “met” during #ubp13) nominated me for the Liebster Blog Award. It’s a great way to meet others and to learn about them too. šŸ™‚ You can find Taylor’s post here.

Here are my 11 facts:

  1. I currently live with my bf, 3 dogs, 2 chinchillas and my friend and her 2 kids. When the going gets tough, my friends and I are there for each other. šŸ™‚
  2. I have 2 best friends, one of whom is struggling to hang on to the kidney transplant she received in July 2012. Any prayers for her are appreciated!
  3. I struggle with depression and post traumatic stress disorder. Right now, it’s the latter that has me in a bind. I’m not getting a lot of sleep.
  4. I upcycle Golden Books into Journals & Disney Autograph Books and sell them in my etsy store, Once Upon a Time, Again (OUATA). I also recently went on a kitschy jewelry-making spree. Be sure to follow or favorite my shop! We’re having a sale!
  5. I have 2 websites, currently. I have one for my etsy shop to discuss new product and sales and a personal one that will have it’s grand re-opening May 1st! I’ve owned the SBAB domain since 2007, but took a blogging hiatus from 2010-right now. Please start following SBAB because I’ll be hosting a month of butterfly-themed giveaways!
  6. I’m working on a memoir at the moment about being a sexual assault survivor. I feel a compulsion to do this. Before it happened to me (in 2000), I used to write fiction all the time. Since it occurred, I’ve had over a decade of writer’s block. Suddenly this year, I’ve had the opposite effect. I. Can’t. STOP. Writing. šŸ™‚ PS. April is Sexual Assault Awareness & Prevention Month.
  7. In addition to my memoir, I’m also working on a Social Media E-Book and a Survivor Workbook. Writing. Writing. Writing.
  8. I was a musical theatre major in college. Recently, I found a VHS tape of my college performing Godspell, and I keep watching it over and over again. It’s nice to see a happier me – back before the assaults took that carefree attitude away.
  9. All of my physical photos were ruined last year (photos pre-digital) and I’m still upset about it. I love the memories they provided, and mourn the loss of them still.
  10. I like to go to flea markets. I’ve been going since I was a baby. It’s fun to find treasures, home decorations and art supplies! I just went to one yesterday and my friend and I hit the mother load in terms of buying old jewelry pieces and upcycling them into new pieces.
  11. I’ve learned that you get what you put out into the world. If you help others, help will be available to you when you need it. šŸ™‚

Here are the questions from Taylor!

  1. What are you doing when you’re the happiest? It used to be performing onstage in musicals. Now, I think it’s writing.
  2. Where is the one place that you’re dying to go? I’ve already spent 2 summers there, but if I had the money, I’d buy a summer hone in MA on Cape Code. LOVE it there!
  3. What got you to start blogging? I’ve always loved writing and blogging was a way to express myself and meet people from all over the world.
  4. What does your blog name mean? I chose OUATA because that’s the name of my Etsy store, Once Upon a Time, Again. I chose She Became a Butterfly as a metaphor from my journey from victim of assault to survivor to thriver.
  5. Who is your favorite person in the world, and why? This is a tough one. At the moment, my bf. He is AMAZING! We balance one another out.
  6. What’s the perfect Saturday to you? It used to be sleeping all day before I got my happy meds adjusted. Now, I like to make journals, create art, watch movies, write, read and pet my pups.
  7. What is your favorite book and why? My ab fave is The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin. Although it’s a middle reader book, it’s such an intricately woven web of a story that grown-ups should surely read it and try to solve its mystery. My fave author is Lisa Gardner. If you like suspense, she’s your gal!
  8. What do you want your kids (present/future) to remember about you? I have a 1-year-old nephew and I want him to remember that I was always there for him, unconditionally. A lot of people “say” they love you unconditionally, but there are always conditions. Trust me, I know.
  9. What is the best memory you have of your own parents (or whoever raised you)? Going to the flea market with them once a month since my birth.
  10. What’s something that you never get tired of? I never get tired of watching my fave movies over and over and over again. I just don’t. When I love a firm, look out!
  11. What’s your weirdest habit? I love to pop zits. LOL. Especially other people’s – so beware!
Now my nominees. I couldn’t find some of your follower counts, so I apologize if you’re over the 200 limit! Great blogs no matter what.
My Questions for You:
  1. How long have you been blogging and what did you talk about the most in your first blog?
  2. Have you ever met anyone of your online friends in real life? If so, how’d it go? If not, who would you like to meet & why?
  3. What’s been your most unusual job?
  4. Please read one of my blog posts then come back here and tell me your opinion on it. Was it funny? Happy? Sad? What did it make you feel?
  5. If you could have 1 famous person follow you on twitter, who would it be and why?
  6. Who is the most important person to you in your life right now and why?
  7. What is your kryptonite? Chocolate? Relationships? What?
  8. Look on my about page and list one thing we have in common so that I can learn more about you. šŸ™‚
  9. If you could give one piece of advice either to a specific person or to the world, what would it be?
  10. What’s your favorite movie & favorite book?
  11. What are you doing when you’re the happiest? (Stolen from Taylor)
Aaand…done. Your turn! Send me back a link and a comment so I can check yours out. šŸ™‚
1 Comment

Filed under Blog2Blog

One response to “Liebster Blog Award

  1. I love your answers! I’m with you on the happy meds–I was not the best person I could be before them.

Leave a Reply

